alt

Gloria's BMI is 39

Tools to support conversations with your patients about obesity

Downloadable resources

Click on the resources above to download materials to support your conversations with people living with obesity.

For those patients who meet the criteria for obesity or overweight, intensive therapeutic counselling on behavioural changes can be an effective part of weight management. Empathetic and supportive counselling can help patients to address the challenges of weight management.1

 

Click on the sections below to explore talking points and resources to help shape your discussions with your patients.

Working with your patients: 5A’s of Obesity Counselling2


1. ASK

The complex and sensitive nature of obesity can make it difficult to discuss with patients. Taking an empathetic approach, and obtaining the patient’s permission and buy in throughout the conversation can be effective.2 Research has shown that when healthcare professionals employed such an approach, patients were more likely to implement lifestyle modifications for weight loss. It is important to first ask patients for permission to begin the conversation about excess weight. 

 

person-with-obesity

2. ASSESS

A weight history discussion is intended to complement a full clinical and physical assessment to identify metabolic, genetic and hormonal factors as well as medications that may be the reasons for weight gain. A successful weight history discussion can result in:1

weight-management

Assessment of root causes that influence eating and activity behaviours7

weight-history

Understanding of past efforts, challenges and successes with their weight management journey7

weight-loss-goals

A basis for individual behavioural goal setting

Main components and goals of a weight history discussion

The following talking points and questions may be helpful to achieve a successful weight history discussion:

Changes in weight over time

Each patient will have gained weight differently. Understanding how and why their weight has changed can provide insight into their weight gain triggers.7

Factors in weight changes

This discussion involves eliciting your patient's perceptions of causes as well as connecting any past medical causes to changes in weight.7

Descriptions of past weight loss efforts

Discuss and understand your patient's past efforts with weight loss, including specific programs or plans, duration, and results.7

Current habits

A discussion about your patient's current eating and activity habits and how they might feel about changing their current habits.8


3. ADVISE

Setting individual behavioural goals 

A discussion about goal setting is a way to help your patients connect their goals with the behavioural changes they can make for better weight management. Align with your patients on realistic and individualized goals as a first step towards creating sustainable long-term changes in behaviour.1,2 Try setting goals that are connected to your patients’ values and objectives. For example, connect the goal of engaging in more physical activity to activities they can do with their children or family, such as going for a walk once a day.  

 

Discussing behavioural goal setting 

It can be helpful to refer to the responses for the talking points and questions above, about how weight may affect your patients’ medical, physical, emotional, and day-to-day well-being, and their lifestyle goals and plans.2

 

Talk about the big picture

There are several things you can do, such as working with your patients to help them set lifestyle goals. To begin the process, here are some questions to consider asking:

  • What do you want to strive towards? If you think about the big picture of your life, what do you want it to look like? Health? Travel?
  • Do you have any general goals for overall well-being or how you want to feel better physically, emotionally and medically?
  • Do you have a certain amount of weight that you want to lose?
  • Considering your lifestyle goals, we can work together to take the first steps towards what is realistic for you to manage your weight and health

4. AGREE

When discussing treatment for weight management with your patients, incorporating healthy eating and activity habits should be included along with other options available, such as medication and/or surgery.1 Patients who have struggled with excess weight may take some time to adopt new healthy habits. As you approach the topic of healthy eating and physical activity with your patients, focus on achievable steps that patients can take toward sustainable lifestyle changes.

Patients could also keep a food and physical activity journal to help them stay on track with these behavioural changes. They can record things like:

  • Food and drinks consumed
  • Hunger levels before and after eating
  • Time spent being active and what types of activity
  • Overall feelings about the lifestyle changes they are making

By recording the situations and feelings in which people living with obesity make decisions about food, you and your patients may be able to identify areas for change. Patients can bring their journal to each appointment to discuss general patterns. Healthcare professionals are encouraged to provide positive feedback and celebrate any progress made with the patient’s lifestyle changes.

5. ASSIST

Research indicates that patients with excess weight feel stigmatized in many areas of their life, including healthcare settings.1,2  The language you use and your environment are two key components to successful weight management. To promote successful interactions with your patients, it is important to consider the following:2,5

alt

Outils pour vous aider dans vos discussions sur l’obésité avec vos patients

Ressources à télécharger

Cliquez sur les ressources ci-dessus pour télécharger des documents qui vous aideront dans vos discussions avec les personnes atteintes d’obésité.

Pour les patients répondant aux critères d’obésité ou de surpoids, une consultation thérapeutique intensive sur les changements comportementaux peut être un élément efficace dans la gestion de poids. Une consultation empathique et positive peut aider les patients à relever les défis de la gestion de poids1.

 

Cliquez sur les sections ci-dessous pour explorer les points de discussion et les ressources qui vous aideront à orienter vos discussions avec vos patients.

Travailler avec vos patients : 5A pour une consultation sur l’obésité2


1. AUTORISATION

La nature complexe et sensible de l’obésité peut rendre difficile la discussion avec les patients. Adopter une approche empathique et obtenir l’autorisation et l’accord du patient tout au long de la conversation peut être efficace2. Des recherches ont montré que, lorsque les professionnels de la santé utilisaient une telle approche, les patients étaient plus susceptibles de mettre en œuvre des modifications d’habitudes de vie pour perdre du poids. Il est important de demander d’abord la permission aux patients avant de commencer la conversation sur l’excès de poids. 

person-with-obesity

2. ANALYSE

Une discussion sur l’historique de poids vise à compléter une évaluation clinique et physique afin de déterminer les facteurs métaboliques, génétiques et hormonaux, ainsi que les médicaments pouvant expliquer le gain de poids. Une discussion efficace sur l’historique de poids peut aider à

weight-management

Évaluer les causes profondes qui influent sur les habitudes alimentaires et l’activité physique7.

weight-history

Comprendre les efforts passés, les défis et les réussites dans sa démarche de gestion de poids7.

weight-loss-goals

Obtenir de l’information de base pour établir des objectifs comportementaux individuels.

Éléments et objectifs clés d’une discussion sur l’historique de poids

Les points de discussion et les questions ci-après peuvent être utiles pour tenir une discussion efficace sur l’historique de poids :

Variation du poids au fil des années

Chaque patient aura pris du poids pour des raisons différentes. Comprendre comment et pourquoi son poids a changé peut donner des indices sur ses déclencheurs de gain de poids7.

Facteurs de variation du poids

Cette discussion vise à connaître les causes possibles de variation de poids, selon votre patient, ainsi que d’établir un lien avec toute cause médicale antérieure7.

Description des efforts de perte de poids précédents

Discutez des efforts passés de votre patient en matière de perte de poids, y compris les programmes ou plans précis, la durée et les résultats, tout en vous assurant de bien les comprendre7.

Habitudes actuelles

Discussion sur les habitudes alimentaires et les activités physiques de votre patient et sur la façon dont il perçoit un changement possible dans ses habitudes actuelles8.

Ressources à télécharger


3. AVIS

Fixer des objectifs comportementaux individuels 

Une discussion sur l’établissement d’objectifs est un moyen d’aider vos patients à associer leurs objectifs aux changements comportementaux qu’ils peuvent apporter pour une meilleure gestion du poids. Entendez-vous avec vos patients sur des objectifs réalistes et individualisés comme première étape vers l’adoption de changements comportementaux durables à long terme1,2. Essayez d’établir des objectifs en fonction des valeurs et des objectifs de vos patients. Par exemple, faites un lien entre l’objectif consistant à faire plus d’activités physiques et les activités qu’ils peuvent faire avec leurs enfants ou leur famille, comme une promenade quotidienne.  

 

Discuter de l’établissement d’objectifs comportementaux 

Il peut être utile de vous reporter aux réponses des points de discussion et questions ci-dessus, sur l’effet que le poids peut avoir sur le bien-être médical, physique, émotionnel et quotidien de vos patients, ainsi que sur leurs objectifs et plans en matière d’habitudes de vie2.

 

Avoir une perspective globale

Vous pouvez faire plusieurs choses, comme travailler avec vos patients pour les aider à se fixer des objectifs d’habitudes de vie. Pour entamer le processus, voici quelques questions que vous pourriez poser :

  • Vers quoi désirez-vous diriger vos efforts? Si vous gardez une vision globale de votre vie, à quoi aimeriez-vous qu’elle ressemble? La santé? Les voyages?
  • Avez-vous des objectifs généraux en ce qui concerne votre bien-être ou la façon dont vous désirez vous sentir mieux sur les plans physique, émotionnel et médical?
  • Souhaitez-vous perdre une certaine quantité de poids?
  • Étant donné vos objectifs en matière d’habitudes de vie, nous pouvons travailler ensemble pour faire les premiers pas vers ce qui est réaliste pour gérer votre poids et prendre en charge votre santé.

4. ACCORD

Lorsque vous discutez d’un traitement pour la gestion de poids avec vos patients, vous devriez inclure des habitudes alimentaires saines et de l’activité physique avec les autres options, telles que les médicaments et/ou la chirurgie1. Les patients aux prises avec un excès de poids peuvent prendre un certain temps pour adopter de nouvelles habitudes saines. Lorsque vous abordez le sujet de la saine alimentation et de l’activité physique avec vos patients, concentrez-vous sur les mesures réalisables que les patients peuvent prendre pour modifier durablement leurs habitudes.

 

Les patients pourraient également tenir un journal alimentaire et d’activité physique pour les aider à progresser dans leurs changements comportementaux. Ils peuvent noter des éléments comme :

  • Nourriture et boissons consommées.
  • Niveaux de faim avant et après avoir mangé.
  • Temps passé à être actif et types d’activité.
  • Sentiments généraux sur les changements d’habitudes de vie qu’ils apportent.

En consignant les situations et les sentiments vécus lors des prises de décision concernant l’alimentation, vous et vos patients pourrez peut-être déterminer les changements à apporter. Les patients peuvent apporter leur journal chaque rendez-vous pour discuter des tendances générales. Les professionnels de la santé sont encouragés à faire des commentaires positifs et à célébrer les progrès réalisés dans les changements d’habitudes de vie du patient.

5. ACCOMPAGNEMENT

Les recherches indiquent que les patients présentant un excès de poids se sentent victimes de stigmatisation dans de nombreux domaines de leur vie, notamment les soins de santé1,2. Le langage que vous utilisez et votre environnement sont deux éléments clés pour une gestion du poids efficace. Pour favoriser des interactions fructueuses avec vos patients, il est important de prendre en compte ce qui suit2,5 :